Great questions to ask interviewers

Ask questions that will make them remember you.

Over the past two years, I spent a lot of time to research and construct good questions to ask during interviews. I have collected some good questions from other sites along with my interview experiences to share with you.

These questions are just my personal preference. I usually don’t like asking really common questions such as “What is the culture like at this company?” There are probably a lot of other candidates who asked the same question, and sometimes you could tell from the interviewers’ tone and responses that they already have their answers memorized.

So I prefer to ask questions that will make them remember you. Or questions that require some thinking to build a two-way-street.

 

Questions to ask HR people who have little technical background (I will make another post that focus more on the technical aspect):

  1. What concerns do you have about me for this position?
  2. What do you hope to accomplish at this company in the next ten years?
  3. What are the biggest challenges the company is facing right now?
  4. How would you handle conflicts with your teammates or colleagues?
  5. What is the most frustrating part of working here?
  6. If you could improve one thing about the company, what would it be?

 

My favorite questions to ask:

  1. What does the company do to address gender and diversity issues?
  2. One of your mission is to ________. Could you tell me a situation where you witnessed this happen?
Leave a Reply

